RSU Women’s Golf Qualifies For NCAA Regional Championships

Rogers State women’s golf has been selected as a team to compete at the 2021 NCAA Central Region Championships to be held at St. Joseph Country Club in St. Joseph, Missouri on May 3-5, announced the NCAA on Monday.

The Hillcats qualified as the No. 5 seed in the region out of nine teams to earn a bid. It is the first NCAA regional bid for the Rogers State women’s golf team in program history, having only had individuals qualify in previous years.

Rogers State has played in seven tournaments this spring and have not finished worse than fifth as a team all season. The Hillcats have been performing even stronger in the later part of the season, with four top three finishes, including two victories in the last five events dating back to March 8-9. The Hillcats are coming off of a third-place finish at the MIAA Championships in Bartlesville, Oklahoma last week.

The Hillcats have been led this season by the MIAA Player of the Year in junior Jessica Green and MIAA Coach of the Year Whitney Hocutt.

Senior Sydney Murray also earned All-MIAA honors and fellow senior Mariana Flores finished as the medalist runner-up at the MIAA Championships last week. Freshman Marelda Ayal also recorded a top-10 finish at the MIAA Championships.

The Hillcats have already played at St. Joseph Country Club this season, competing at the Holiday Inn Express Classic in late March. Rogers State finished fourth out of 18 teams at the event, which featured seven of the nine schools that qualified for the regional championship.

The NCAA Regional Championship event with be a 54-hole tournament with the top three teams from each regional and the top three individuals not with an already qualifying team from each regional will advance to the finals May 11-15 at TPC Michigan in Dearborn, Michigan.

Central Regional Qualifiers


1. Arkansas Tech

2. Central Oklahoma [AQ-MIAA]

3. Northeastern State

4. Central Missouri

5. Rogers State

6. Henderson State [AQ-GAC]

7. Southwestern Oklahoma State

8. Harding

9. Augustana [AQ-NSIC]


1. Allycia Gan, Missouri Western

2. Lexi Hanson, Sioux Falls

3. Morgan Brasser, Fort Hays State

4. MacKayla Olsen, Upper Iowa

Latest articles

Similar articles